Saturday Snapshots–Cheering on my little sister

March 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm 28 comments

I scanned some old photographs that my mother gave me. Here’s one  of my sister, Mary, taking her first steps. I’m cheering her on.

This is what I was doing last Saturday. Two of my daughters and their fiances were there cheering me on. A wonderful Easter display behind me, looking less like a bookstore.

Saturday Snapshot meme, At Home With Books: To participate in the Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see.

Entry filed under: authors, photography, writing family stories. Tags: , , , .

Book signing at Chapters Waterloo Lent and forward to Easter

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kaye  |  March 17, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    You and your sister were two little blonde cutie-pies! Thanks for visiting!

    Reply
    • 2. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      Thanks, Kaye. We had a few pics and I like this one especially. Mom was pretty busy with two children 15 months apart and then living on a farm too, where there was lots of work to be done.

      Reply
  • 3. trish  |  March 17, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    How lovely to have a cheering squad, no matter what the age!

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      I thought it was pretty special too. I think we need it at every age, don’t you?
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Reply
    • 5. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      Yes, I think we need it at any age.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      Yes, I think we need it at any age.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 7. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea  |  March 17, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    What cuties — you and your sister.

    Reply
    • 8. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 8:21 pm

      Ah, thanks, Diane.

      Reply
    • 9. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 2:31 am

      Thanks, Diane. When we were a little older, Mom started dressing us alike and some people say they couldn’t tell us apart.

      Reply
  • 10. Cathy  |  March 17, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I love scanning old family photos!

    Reply
    • 11. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      I have yet to figure out how to improve the quality of the old photos, but this one is not too bad.

      Reply
  • 12. Eva @View from the Hillside  |  March 17, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    She doesn’t look quite steady, it’s good that she has a cheering squad.
    Good luck with your book.

    Reply
    • 13. storygal  |  March 17, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      She wasn’t steady in that picture, as most babies learning to walk. ;)
      Thanks for your best wishes on my book.

      Reply
  • 14. cherylmahoney  |  March 17, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    What a cute old picture! And I hope your book signing was fun. :)

    Reply
    • 15. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 2:25 am

      It’s one of my favourite pics of Mary and me when we were small. My books signing was indeed fun—from one conversation and signing to the next! Thanks for stopping by, Cheryl.

      Reply
  • 16. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks)  |  March 17, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    That’s so sweet! And great photo of you too!

    Reply
    • 17. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 2:23 am

      Thanks, Alyce, for your kind comments. Last Saturday, and all my book events have been enjoyable and well attended.

      Reply
  • 18. Sim@ Chapter1-Take1  |  March 17, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    That is very special! Gotta love our sisters.

    Reply
    • 19. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 2:21 am

      As sisters close in age, we have both played together and apart. I’m pleased to say that my family has been most supportive of my book: our story.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 20. Susan  |  March 18, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Wow! How important is support no matter our age! Congrats on publishing your memoir! What a neat accomplishment! Bet it was a fun day at the booksigning event!

    Reply
    • 21. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      Thank you, Susan. The book was published in June 2011 and I’ve had a number of events and enjoyed everyone. I’ve also had many positive comments on my book after people have read it. That and people coming are the best support I could hope for.

      Reply
  • 22. Leslie  |  March 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    That’s a precious photo of you and your sister.

    In the second one it does look like you are sitting in a candy shop. Nothing wrong with that!

    Reply
    • 23. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      Indeed it looked like a candy store aisle. Chapters and Indigo are selling fewer books and a lot of gift ware. The sign said something like “Build your own Easter baskets.”
      It was a special day. Thanks for your good wishes and your comments on my photos, Leslie.

      Reply
    • 24. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      Indeed it looked like a candy store aisle. Chapters and Indigo are selling fewer books and a lot of gift ware. The sign said something like “Build your own Easter baskets.”
      It was a special day. Thanks for your good wishes and your comments on my photos, Leslie.

      Reply
  • 25. lisabutterybooks  |  March 18, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Love the photos and hope you had a wonderful book signing!

    Reply
    • 26. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 5:54 pm

      Thank you, Lisa. I had a great time at the signing. The bookstore should be pleased with the number of books sold.

      Reply
  • 27. Sharon Espeseth  |  March 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    I can so identify with your photo, Carolyn. My older sister Joan has always been and still is part of my most vocal cheering section. Yesterday, in the front of a memoir writing book I’m sending to her, I wrote a thank you for all the times she has supported and prayed for me. Joan is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s and is moving into a small, but lovely suite in a care facility on April 1. She still converses well and is able to write using the appropriate words, so she agrees that it’s time to get her story down for her granddaughter. I pray this process will be mental stimulation and a blessed process for her.

    Reply
    • 28. storygal  |  March 18, 2012 at 9:40 pm

      So sorry to hear that your sister has Alzheimer’s. I do hope you can get the story down while she can remember the important parts. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your story.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


https://twitter.com/cwilker

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

book cover


Postcards without stamps

Photography and Beyond

Threshold of Heaven

Planet Earth: Threshold of Heaven

janice l. dick

a writer's life

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

Just another WordPress.com weblog

LRHallBooks

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 763 other followers

