Paw prints in the snow…

January 12, 2010 at 1:17 am 1 comment

January 11, 2010

The snow that came down a few days ago was light and fluffy, landing as soft as feathers. It covered the dirty snow and pathways, the black driveway and the car’s tire tracks. I love that kind of snow; it makes everything look clean and sparkly.

 My husband was eager to get out and shovel snow, but I told him to wait, or to shovel the neighbour’s driveway first. I got dressed warm and grabbed my camera and headed outside. First to the backyard where small animal prints made a pattern across the yard next to the cedar trees.

Being careful not to make too many tracks of my own, I walked along the side of the workshop as close to the building as I dared, then figured out my site line so I could get enough natural light and capture the prints. The snow is not nearly as deep as it seems. I think some small rabbit with long legs made the trek across the yard, in search of what, I don’t know.

 After getting backyard photos, I walked to the front yard  and took one with the sun behind me. Standing in that place, my body cast long shadows across the yard, making me look the giant that I’m not. The snow is deeper here, for these plants in my raised bed were nearly 10 inches high.

 Once I had all the pictures I wanted of the clean, unprinted snow, I resisted the urge to make a snow angel and opted for shovelling the driveway. By this time, my husband had already cleaned one of our neighbour’s driveways and was on to the next one. I shovelled the light snow easily and tossed it across onto the bank alongside the driveway.

 The air had a bit of nip to it, but not as bitter as it had been a few days previous.  The snow was indeed as light as it seemed; the task took some time but was quite enjoyable.  When I finished my task, I went indoors refreshed and ready for breakfast. It would have been a good day for a walk, but I had other tasks awaiting. There’ll be more snow like this.

Entry filed under: seasons, winter. Tags: .

Happy Birthday Dad! Trouble in Haiti– watch where you send your dollars

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title

Harry’s Trees

Les arbres de Harry


Life and Random Thinking

An old dog CAN blog

www.storygal.ca/

Reflections of life, love and gardening

P e d r o L

storytelling the world

POETIC BLOOMINGS

Established in May 2011 to help nurture and inspire the poetic spirit.

Home on 129 Acres

Creating our forever home in the country

debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures, thoughts and ideas...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon