NaNoWriMo– National Novel Writing Month

November 1, 2010 at 7:38 pm 2 comments

It’s official, my first time participating in NaNoWriMo. It’s a busy website today.  For anyone who doesn’t know what that stands for, it’s national novel writing month. People across the world are registered to begin today.

The goal is to write a 50,000-word novel in the month of November, to be completed by midnight November 30th. I suppose it will be a marathon seat-of-the-pants race against time.  The goal is to write ( with no editing until December, if we’re not too tired of our story by then). It doesn’t matter if the writing is good or not, only that participants write.

I divided the word count by the number of days to write, which is 30, and I came up with 1,666.666. So here I am with day 1 word count completed, without cutting words to bits to get that decimal.  I hope I can keep the momentum growing and not procrastinate too much. I dreamt about it, with no clue about what I would write.

Any writers who have time to read my blog this month, when you’re not writing nanowrimo or other exciting stories  and doing other things, tell me how you’re doing. A short note with your word count and how you’re managing the writing is all I ask for.

As for me, I’ve called my story “nano”  for now. I expect a title to come later, perhaps when I’m well into writing.

Until then,  happy writing!

 

Entry filed under: writing. Tags: .

Awesome Author Challenge- Jodi Picoult Just like the athletes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. violet  |  November 19, 2010 at 2:47 am

    I did Nano last year. It was quite a month. I see by the counter you’re at 31,000+ words. Good for you! Go the distance!!

    Reply
    • 2. storygal  |  November 19, 2010 at 2:57 am

      Thanks, Violet. I plan to stick in to the finish. Most of the way to 33,000 now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

