Saturday photo– Piper at sunset

July 16, 2011 at 10:21 pm 25 comments

Entry filed under: photography, travel in Canada. Tags: , .

A book launch and more Lessons from Write! Canada

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyce  |  July 16, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    I had to laugh because for some reason when I saw your post title I was thinking “sandpiper” rather than “bagpiper.” Your photo was a pleasant surprise! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. storygal  |  July 16, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Well, he is piping while standing in the sand, so I suppose he could be a sandpiper. 😉 What fun we have with words.

    Thanks for sharing your photos of Hawaii.

    Reply
  • 3. carolynstearns (@carolynstearns)  |  July 17, 2011 at 1:11 am

    Amazing Grace?

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  July 17, 2011 at 1:24 am

      The piper played a number of pieces. I cannot remember if he played Amazing Grace since it was last summer. It surely would have been appropriate.

      Reply
  • 5. Harry Nicholson  |  July 17, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Is he piping the sun to bed? As it drops into the sea behind Tir na n’Og? … I’m assuming it’s Scotland.

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  July 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      Hello Harry,

      Is this a Scottish custom, piping the sun to bed? This piper is actually in Canada at a place called Southampton, Ontario, located on the shores of Lake Huron.
      Carolyn

      Reply
  • 7. Marie  |  July 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Very nice! I love the bagpipes. Too bad I don’t get to hear them that often.

    Reply
    • 8. storygal  |  July 17, 2011 at 10:58 pm

      Thanks, Marie. When I was growing up, we only heard bagpipes at parades and band tatoos.

      Reply
  • 9. Harry Nicholson  |  July 17, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Well, it might well be – although I just thought up the idea.
    I had temporarily forgotten about the Caledonian makeup of Canada.
    Is the piper trying to rouse the Huron people?
    The pipes get all over – I’ve seen them played by Hindu mountain people in the Himalaya.

    Reply
  • 10. storygal  |  July 17, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    I suppose the bagpipes in another country might be somewhat different in their construction. Do you know what those look like?

    I don’t know about them waking the Huron people. I’ll have to ask one of my students about that.

    My cousin and my husband’s cousin both had bagpipers play at their wedding, since there’s Scottish blood on both sides. Our district Toastmasters also uses the bagpipes as part of their ceremony at official banquets and conference gatherings.
    Interesting questions, Harry. Maybe we’ll both have to ask some questions about babgpipes.

    Reply
  • 11. Veens  |  July 18, 2011 at 2:05 am

    This pic is so beautiful…

    Reply
    • 12. storygal  |  July 18, 2011 at 2:20 am

      Thank you, Veena. I took many pictures that evening and this one is my favourite.
      I checked your blog and found it attractive. You like reading as much as I do, I think.

      Reply
  • 13. Lisa@ButteryBooks  |  August 6, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Such a serene photo. I love the pink color of the sky.

    Reply
  • 14. trish  |  August 6, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    What a beautiful photo! The sound of bagpipes always make me misty eyed.

    Reply
    • 15. storygal  |  August 6, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Thanks, Trish and Lisa. I took a whole lot of photos and like that one best.

      Reply
  • 16. JenniferB  |  August 6, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    Such a beautiful picture – the colors are amazing.

    Reply
    • 17. storygal  |  August 6, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      Thank you, Jennifer. A Southampton sky at sunset.

      Reply
  • 18. Wanda  |  August 6, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Beautiful, I can almost here the bagpipes.

    Reply
    • 19. storygal  |  August 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm

      There was always a skirl at the beginning. He played well.

      Reply
  • 20. laurelrainsnow  |  August 6, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    Love the shadowy image of the piper against the backdrop of sunset….thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT

    Reply
    • 21. storygal  |  August 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      Especially Iike the one of the playful photo shoot.

      Reply
  • 22. Paulita  |  August 6, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    As soon as I clicked on your blog, I had to show the photo to my daughter who is 19 and obsessed with bagpipes and all things Scottish. Then I read the comments and had to laugh because of the Amazing Grace comment. My daughter’s name is Grace and she thought it was amazing.

    Reply
    • 23. storygal  |  August 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      Thanks for sharing that story. Grace is certainly a good name.

      Reply
  • 24. Vicki  |  August 6, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    What an amazing sunset. Beautiful!!
    Here’s My Snapshot

    Reply
  • 25. Irish  |  August 6, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    What a beautiful scene…thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

