Launching Once Upon a Sandbox– a story in photographs

July 31, 2011 at 6:38 pm 6 comments

  July 13, 2011.  Posing for a photo before the launch of my book. Note the mini sandbox beside me.

Giving my reading. An attentive and receptive audience. Thanks to my daughter Sarah and her boyfriend Tony for setting up microphone and handling sound and video of program. And thanks to my emcee, Doris Tuckett, who took on her role with sincerity and grace.

My signing table with mini sandbox,  hand-made card (foreground) from a young friend,  guest book ( left corner)

 Treats for the guests.

Homemade cookies and squares (courtesy of Jane Trafford), and fruit tray from my parents, Harry and Lyla Wilhelm. Lemonade, courtesy of daughter Laura, to quench our thirst on a warm summer evening. Thanks to my servers Flora Klein and my daughter Adrienne.

 Books laid out on sales table. My sales team of Jane Trafford and Diana  Holvik were too busy to get their photos taken, but much thanks to them for their efforts.
Thank you to my husband Len, fellow writer Diana, long-time friend Jane, and our daughters and their partners, Dave, Tyler and Tony for helping to set up chairs, put out signs and balloons and any other preparation essential to the successful launch as well as clean-up afterwards.  Also special thanks to all who showed up that night, including my artist, to help me celebrate. I appreciated the use of our church hall at St. Philip Lutheran Church, Kitchener, ON. It had everything we needed, even flowers for the book signing table.

The art (by Deborah Pryce) for my book was displayed on an easel,  however, I do not have a photo of it as set up at my launch. See next post with that artwork and my artist in the Uptown Gallery, Waterloo, ON.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , .

Updates for Once Upon a Sandbox Saturday Snapshot

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  August 1, 2011 at 11:49 am

    See ya at Tavistock , book launch , Sis!!!

    Reply
    • 2. storygal  |  August 1, 2011 at 11:51 am

      That’s great, thanks. Deciding which stories to read this t ime.

      Reply
  • 3. Marcia Laycock  |  August 5, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Nice Pix, Carolyn. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  August 5, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      Thanks, Marcia.

      Coming soon, an interview with my artist.

      Reply
  • 5. Kimberley Payne  |  August 7, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Looks like a beautiful display and sounds like it was a beautiful day!

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  August 7, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      Thanks, Kimberley.

      We were blessed with good weather for folks who came a distance and a slight break in heat so the place was comfortable. I am delighted with the response.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

