Saturday Snapshot

October 8, 2011 at 12:27 pm 18 comments

At Home With Books

 

West Montrose Covered Bridge, Ontario

 

Entry filed under: photography. Tags: , .

If you don’t vote, don’t complain Once Upon a Sandbox– Update

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kay  |  October 8, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I love covered bridges! I don’t think we have any here in Texas. They always say Northeast to me. LOL

    Reply
  • 2. Paulita  |  October 8, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Yes, covered bridges. They just say history and a simpler time. Good shot of this one. Here’s Mine

    Reply
  • 3. bermudaonion (Kathy)  |  October 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I love covered bridges.

    Reply
  • 4. gautami tripathy  |  October 8, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Covered bridges! I loved the photos!

    Here is my Saturday Snapshot post!

    Reply
  • 5. Jill  |  October 8, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    We have a number of covered bridges in our area. I did a 5K last month and part of the route was to go through a covered bridge which is the first time I’ve ever been on foot in one. Nice shots!

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  October 8, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Thanks, Jill. I’m curious what state or provice where these covered bridges are. We saw one in New Brunswick, I think, when we were out east one year. There are not so many of them anymore.

      Reply
  • 7. Lisa@ButteryBooks  |  October 8, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I loved covered bridges!

    Reply
    • 8. storygal  |  October 8, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      Thanks for your comments, Lisa and Kathy. This bridge is in an area where Amish families live; it’s quaint to see horses and buggies ride on through.
      Sometimes these bridges were also called kissing bridges, because young courting couples would stop there out of sight.

      Reply
  • 9. Alyce  |  October 8, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    We have very few covered bridges in our state, so it’s always a treat to see them. This one looks great!

    Reply
  • 10. Christine Rains  |  October 8, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Gorgeous shots! I love covered bridges. It’s so rare nowadays that we see them.

    Reply
  • 11. Sheila (Book Journey)  |  October 8, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    I love this! I dont know if I have ever been under a covered bridge.

    Reply
    • 12. storygal  |  October 8, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      It’s kind of neat driving through one, imagining what it would have beeen like in horse and carriage.

      Reply
  • 13. mostraum  |  October 8, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I love seeing these. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in real life though 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. storygal  |  October 10, 2011 at 12:04 am

      If you ever get the chance, drive by one or stop and take a look.

      Reply
  • 15. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea  |  October 9, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    I love these covered bridges. Still a few around in New England.

    Thanks for your expression of sympathy at the loss of our cat Libby:(
    Have a wonderful Sunday!

    Reply
    • 16. storygal  |  October 10, 2011 at 12:03 am

      Hello Diane,
      I haven’t been to New England really, so I don’t know how many others there would be.

      It may have been someone else who expressed sympathy about your cat. Pets become pretty special.

      Reply
  • 17. Sharon Chance  |  October 9, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    lovely pictures! They just say “Fall” to me!

    Reply
    • 18. storygal  |  October 10, 2011 at 12:01 am

      Thanks for stopping by and glad you’re enjoying the pictures. I am too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

