Saturday Snapshot-Trunks, Boxes and Baskets

December 3, 2011 at 12:46 pm 21 comments

Waterloo Region Museum: Immigrants coming to Canada trunks used  trunks, boxes, baskets to bring everything they’d need.

A friend told me once about when she was a child and her family was moving to England that she was allowed to take only one toy.

To participate in the Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken. Photos can be old or new, and be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. At Home With Books.

Entry filed under: history. Tags: .

Toastmasters conference– Part 3 Launch of Eyes Wide Open by R. K. Livingston

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. trish  |  December 3, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    What a cool way to display all that history.

    Reply
  • 2. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I thought so too. It was a large wall with many cases, but since I enlarged the picture, I got the column view instead. Still neat.

    Reply
  • 3. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea  |  December 3, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    What a very cool shot. It reminds me of something I saw in a movie one time for some reason.

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 4:19 pm

      Kind of neat composition. I would have never thought of it myself, but seeing the trunks and cases on display like that was unusual.

      Reply
  • 5. Nise'  |  December 3, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I feel for the guys that had to lift and move all those trunks! Awesome picture.

    Reply
  • 6. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    You’re right. They would be very heavy since they’d probably be packed very tight.

    Reply
  • 7. Leslie  |  December 3, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Interesting display. I wouldn’t think baskets would be good for a long journey but I guess you use what you have.

    Reply
  • 8. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I’m thinking the same about baskets. Not as sturdy, but maybe they were like our carryon luggage.

    Reply
  • 9. Alyce  |  December 3, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Those old trunks look so cool, but I can’t imagine having to lug one around.

    Reply
    • 10. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      Neither can I, Alyce. Awfully heavy, I’m sure. The lighterweight suitcases were not yet invented, nor would they have done to move a family from one country to another.

      Carolyn

      Reply
  • 11. irene  |  December 3, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Great photo, those containers looks so small, or do we just have too much. When my parents came over, they too had only one suitcase between them, and my mother’s sewing machine. I recently threw that old suitcase out, wish I’d kept it, just because… certainly would have been a conversation piece in my living room.

    Reply
  • 12. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    We likely have too much. I’ve never had to move from more than one city to another and that was when we were married.

    Reply
  • 13. Amy  |  December 3, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    I love old trunks….I always wonder about their history. The basket is very pretty but I would think it wouldn’t be great for carrying much and definitely nothing too heavy

    Reply
  • 14. Paulita  |  December 3, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    When I saw the top of this picture, I thought it was someone’s closet and I was so jealous! Great picture Here’s My Saturday Snapshot

    Reply
    • 15. storygal  |  December 3, 2011 at 11:36 pm

      Looks pretty tidy, doesn’t it. Thanks.

      Reply
  • 16. Louise  |  December 4, 2011 at 7:06 am

    That’s a clever way to display the trunks.

    Reply
    • 17. storygal  |  December 4, 2011 at 11:31 am

      I was surprised by it too and thought, what a great way to display them. With the red backing, the display shows up remarkably.

      Reply
  • 18. stacilifeinthethumb  |  December 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Awesome photo. I love that glimpse into history! Could you imagine only being allowed to bring one item?

    Reply
    • 19. storygal  |  December 5, 2011 at 2:13 am

      If you were a child with favourite toys, that would be hard. If you’re an adult with favourite clothes, packing less could be hard. On the other hand, people coming may not have had so many clothes.

      Reply
  • 20. Edgar  |  December 5, 2011 at 3:09 am

    The trunks come in all sizes and contain lots of memories.
    I have a toy at home-a white poodle that walks. Does not bark. On batteries.
    I remember when our daughter was 8 we gave her a walking toy dog which she took around wherever she went.

    Reply
    • 21. storygal  |  December 5, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      Yes, imagine all those memories in such a trunk.
      Did the walking dog come out before or after the walking dolls?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

