Saturday Snapshots–Blooming Flowers

January 14, 2012 at 4:39 pm 22 comments

Hibiscus blooming in time for Christmas

My husband experimented with features on our camera to get this close-up shot.

When a tall stem started shooting up on this aloe plant, I watched to see what would happen. Of all the aloe plants I’ve raised, none has ever grown a stem like this. The blossoms opened during late December, blooming in tandem with the hibiscus. The flowers hung in a long group like digitalis (foxglove) on its long stem. Now there’s only a small group of blossoms remaining. I moved the plant to get a better shot and got a shadow instead.

At Home With Books meme by Alyce. Go on over and see other photos.

Entry filed under: plants, seasons. Tags: , .

For book lovers Saturday Snapshot—when a shovel wasn’t enough to clear the snow

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyce  |  January 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    The hibiscus is beautiful and so cheerful! I need more flowers here in the dead of winter. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 2. storygal  |  January 14, 2012 at 5:32 pm

      That plant keeps on blooming, over and over. I delight in it each time. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 3. Kay  |  January 14, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    That hibiscus – so lovely. It reminds me of the cover of Sarah Jio’s new book, THE BUNGALOW. But yours is real. I didn’t know that aloe would bloom.

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  January 14, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      Like I said, I’d never seen one bloom before. Why one and not another?

      Reply
  • 5. Leslie  |  January 14, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    I have had aloe plants for 20 years and none of them has ever bloomed. Nothing I do will make them bloom. I’ve tried fresh soil, they get full sun in a garden window facing south, water sparingly once a month… nothing. In the summer a few are going outside, maybe that will work.

    The hibiscus is lovely. I have one that is supposed to withstand Chicago winters. It came back last summer so I’m hopeful it will survive again.

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  January 14, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      We have a southwest exposure on the window ledge where that aloe sits. I don’t water anymore since my husband took up watering. That way they’d get too much. Other aloes sit in pots in other places and have still done well, though not flower. Can there be a male and female succulent plant?

      In Chicago you’re close to the same latitude as we are. I’ve had a hibiscus plant that sat outside in summer and overwintered indoors, still where there was light. This one has never been outdoors except from florist to here, but it gets enough drafts in the windowsill.

      Reply
      • 7. Leslie  |  January 14, 2012 at 9:52 pm

        As far as I know aloe are not male or female. The plant needs certain conditions to flower, just the right temperature, water, sun, age, roots… and only it knows what it wants and it’s not telling.

      • 8. storygal  |  January 14, 2012 at 9:59 pm

        Yes, I like that. It’s not telling. Thanks, Leslie. πŸ˜‰

  • 9. trish  |  January 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    So pretty! I have an orchid that’s about to bloom – pictures soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 10. storygal  |  January 14, 2012 at 9:18 pm

      Oh, I’d love to see the orchid. Mine stopped blooming a long time ago. Maybe I just have more luck with hibiscus and aloe. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 11. Lisa  |  January 14, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen an aloe plant bloom! Very interesting.

    Reply
    • 12. storygal  |  January 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm

      Seeing the stem shoot up and flowers develop was interesting to me too. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 13. carolynstearns (@carolynstearns)  |  January 15, 2012 at 12:49 am

    I have had aloe plants for years and never a blosson your green thumb shines!!

    Reply
    • 14. storygal  |  January 15, 2012 at 2:07 am

      Guess I have to share the credit with my husband since he waters them most of the time. We both learned about growing plants from living on a farm, if that counts. πŸ™‚

      This is my first blossoming aloe plant though. Is it luck?

      Reply
  • 15. Diane@BibliophileBytheSea  |  January 15, 2012 at 1:08 am

    Several times I have tried to bring my hibiscus indoors for fall/winter, but they always die….not sure why. Those are lovely, healthy plants.

    Reply
  • 16. Marie  |  January 15, 2012 at 1:23 am

    It’s nice to have plants blooming at Christmas. Mine all seem to hibernate. You must have a very green thumb. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • 17. storygal  |  January 15, 2012 at 2:04 am

      Hello Marie,

      I like poinsettias too, but we didn’t have one this year, except one plant that was a gift for my parents. Yes, it is good to have flowers at Christmas.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 18. irene  |  January 15, 2012 at 1:32 am

    What a beautiful Hibiscus, and your aloe is unique to say the least. I’ve never seen a shoot like that either. I’ve had to stop growing them my cat keeps eating them.

    Reply
    • 19. storygal  |  January 15, 2012 at 2:02 am

      Thanks, Irene.

      When I offer people plants, those with cats often say no. Maybe something to do with being a gardener, though there are plants I don’t have a green thumb for. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 20. storygal  |  January 15, 2012 at 1:59 am

    The hibiscus was a gift from one of our daughters and it’s been producing many flowers off and on.

    I don’t know why plants brought in don’t do well. My mom used to take her geraniums indoors to overwinter. I think she took clippings from the plants and started new ones. We didn’t have room to do that.

    Reply
  • 21. jlshall (Joysweb)  |  January 15, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    I’ve never seen a hibiscus plant quite that shade of yellow, but I love it. And I didn’t even know aloes ever put out blooms — that’s a great shot.

    Thanks for visiting Joysweb, and have a wonderful week!

    Reply
    • 22. storygal  |  January 16, 2012 at 1:40 am

      Beautiful flower, isn’t it. Thanks for stopping by my blog as well. Hope your week is a super one.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

