Saturday Snapshots– Growing up on a farm

June 23, 2012 at 11:59 am 18 comments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here, Kitty.  Always pets around, but not in the house

 

 

 

 

Dad on the tractor

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My sister Mary and I, ready for school

 

At Home With Books is host of this meme. Share a photo that you or a family member has taken. Link up with the site and leave your comment.

Entry filed under: family, photography. Tags: , .

Scenes of Summer Saturday Snapshots–Joe’s Scarecrows

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. trish  |  June 23, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Wonderful black and whites! Growing up on a farm must have been a magical experience. I always loved visiting people on farms as a child but never got to spend enough time there myself.

    Reply
  • 2. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Hi Trish, I don’t know about magical, but we had clean air, room to run and play, and as we got old enough, we learned the jobs demanded of a farm, including driving tractor at harvest and piling bales on a wagon after the baler gathered up the hay. And much more. Last year my book was published about that experience: See my book page http://carolynwilker.ca/book.shtml

    Reply
  • 3. Christine Harding  |  June 23, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    oh, I do like old pictures, and these are fabulous. I have one of me, very similar to your first one (but minus the cat), with the same sort of dress, shoes and socks – and a single curl on the top of my head! And I wore a little gingham dress to school, with a ribbon in my hair.

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      I can just picture that shot. We only know about those early days from photos. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 5. Sheila (Book Journey)  |  June 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Those are fun – its amazing to look at how far we have come in photography in such a short time!

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      That’s true, Sheila. I’ve scanned the old photos to keep them in my collection and avoid further aging, at least for now.

      Reply
  • 7. Leslie  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    Charming photos. I grew up in the same era and life seemed simpler then. Or maybe it’s my imagination or just nostalgia.

    Reply
    • 8. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      I think life was somewhat less complicated then. We tend to see things differently when we look back. Thanks, Leslie.

      Reply
  • 9. kaye  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    You and your sister are so cute! Love old photos.

    Reply
    • 10. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      Thanks for your kind words. An interesting side note is that our next sister complained about wearing the “same dress” twice and Mom stopped dressing us alike after that. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 11. Diane@BibliophilebytheSea  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    These are fabulous. I love old photos. I began school around that time as well and also have a b/w me and kitty photo somewhere…LOL

    Reply
    • 12. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 2:32 pm

      Thanks, Diane. Unlike homes in town, our kittens and dogs most often slept in the barn, except for one dog that slept on an old coat in our garage.

      Reply
  • 13. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks)  |  June 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I love looking back in time with old photos! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 14. storygal  |  June 23, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      Thanks, Alyce. There have been a number of lovely old photos shown here at different times.

      Reply
  • 15. Louise  |  June 24, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    Such great old photos, I particularly love that first one.

    Reply
    • 16. storygal  |  June 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

      Hi Loise. I like that one too. One of my favourites. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 17. cherylmahoney  |  June 27, 2012 at 3:08 am

    Oh, how fun! I love the adorable shot with the kitty–and those cute school uniforms!

    Reply
    • 18. storygal  |  June 27, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      Thanks, Cheryl. Not school uniforms, but dresses our mother made for us to wear to school. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

