WordPress Challenge–Study Abroad?

December 24, 2012 at 3:33 pm 8 comments

That’s it, I’ve taken a challenge for the week, to write something here every day.

And here’s the prompt that I’ll start with ( from Dec. 23)

If you were asked to spend a year living in a different location, where would you choose and why?

A place I have always wanted to go is Switzerland. Perhaps because some of my ancestors came from there. Perhaps because of a CBC film we watched when I was in grade school, with those  high white-capped Alps where the fictional Heidi lived with her grandfather and learned to tend sheep. The place had an attraction for me, but all I could do was dream of it.

Now say there was a special course or series of courses on life story writing that was hosted somewhere in the Alps, it could be attractive. Even more if it were in English, since I don’t speak German, and taught by someone I respected or whom I had read about. Oh, perhaps I’d best take classes in learning the language too.

If there was time off for social events, I would want to go places, but not by skiing, since I’ve never done it on anything but a small barnhill. I would go into Berne while I was in Switzerland to find places inhabited by those ancestors I mentioned, and I would try to locate them and write about that too. All the more reason to learn German, I suppose.

Finally, I don’t know about going there for a year. I’d  have to take someone along with me and I’d miss my grandchildren so, and the rest of my family. That’s it, I’d need a Skype connection so I could see everyone and watch the little ones grow from afar. A year would be a long time.

Entry filed under: community, education, relationships, storytelling, travel. Tags: , , , , , .

A Heart this Heavy To all my readers: A Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andreas Moser  |  December 24, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Switzerland is really beautiful.
    By the way, German is not the only language spoken there. Other parts of Switzerland speak French or Italian.

    Reply
    • 2. storygal  |  December 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      Hello Andreas,

      Yes, I am aware that other languages are spoken there. I chose German since I think my ancestors may have spoken that language, with the last name of Wilhelm. I could be wrong. French I could refresh and learn more, but I don’t know Italian at all.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’ll check your blog too.

      Reply
  • 3. seeker  |  December 30, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Switzerland, beautiful country and a free one. Enjoy the trip

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  December 30, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      If I should have the opportunity to go there, I will, thanks.

      Reply
  • 5. lilypup  |  March 12, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    My husband says Switzerland is really immaculate. Sounds good to me. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  March 13, 2015 at 12:31 pm

      Lilypup, I may never get to Switzerland, but it’s good to dream. Thanks for your comment.

      Reply
  • 7. rogershipp  |  March 15, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Switzerland does sound wonderful… Not the skiing. Being Heidi would be great?

    Reply
    • 8. storygal  |  March 15, 2015 at 11:35 pm

      I’ve never skiied more than on a small hill in our family’s yard, but it would be fulfillment of a dream to go there someday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE Photography

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

