Saturday Snapshot–Memories

January 5, 2013 at 1:55 pm 25 comments

Carolyn and Mary

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A photo of my sister Mary and I, ready to walk to school.

As you can see, we were dressed alike, right down to the ponytails and ribbons in our hair. We walked a quarter mile to our country school; our parents did not drive us there. My sister is fifteen months younger, but the taller of the two of us.

 

Saturday Snapshots At Home With Books

To participate in the Saturday Snapshot meme post a photo that you (or a friend or family member) have taken then leave a direct link on the host site. Photos can be old or new, and be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see.

photo credit: L. Wilhelm, parent

Entry filed under: family, photography, writing family stories. Tags: , , .

Canadian Writers Who Are Christian–Turn over a new leaf Learning from our grandmothers

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laurelrainsnow  |  January 5, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    Great memories! I do love the black and whites I find in my albums. Somehow they survive the passage of time better than some of the colored shots.

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

    Reply
    • 2. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 2:34 pm

      Our youngest daughter had her wedding photos taken this fall and the photographer changed a bunch of them to black and white. I know what you’re saying.
      Will check your picture too.

      Reply
  • 3. readerbuzz  |  January 5, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    People were always dressing sisters alike back in the 60’s! Thank you for sharing this photo. It reminds me of photos of my sister and me.

    Here’s
    my Saturday Snapshot.
    I hope you will stop by! And Happy New Year!

    Reply
    • 4. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Loved your photo too.

      Reply
  • 5. bermudaonion(Kathy)  |  January 5, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    I love old photos like that!

    Reply
    • 6. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 11:07 pm

      Thanks, Kathy. Glad you stopped by.

      Reply
  • 7. Leslie  |  January 5, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    Love the old photos and the way they freeze moments in time.

    Reply
    • 8. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 3:57 pm

      I do too. Like Laurel said, the black and white photos also keep longer. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Reply
  • 9. Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  |  January 5, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    Such a great photo! My sister and I always ended up dressed alike. I can understand!!

    Reply
  • 10. edgarone2  |  January 5, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    Old photos stir memories. Yours are lovely memories.

    Reply
  • 11. Melwyk  |  January 5, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    You both look so cheery! And almost like twins with the dressing alike and so on…what a nice picture to have.

    Reply
  • 12. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks)  |  January 5, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    What a sweet old photo!

    Reply
    • 13. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 11:10 pm

      Thanks, Alyce. Remembering those days of youth. 🙂

      Reply
  • 14. Elizabeth  |  January 5, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    How sweet….I love old photos.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Saturday Snapshot

    Reply
  • 15. Vicki  |  January 5, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    So cute!! Love your matching dresses and hair!
    My SS

    Reply
    • 16. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 11:09 pm

      My mom made those dresses from fabric that my Grandmother brought back from a stay in Florida.

      Reply
  • 17. Paulita  |  January 5, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    On first glance, you look like twins. Fun memories. Here’s Mine

    Reply
    • 18. storygal  |  January 5, 2013 at 11:08 pm

      And a lot of people thought we were. That was the fun of it!

      Reply
  • 19. Christine Harding  |  January 5, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    What a lovely photo. My daughters (now aged 25 and 23) used to like dressing alike when they were small. My mother and I sewed lots of their dresses, and tried to them ‘the same but different’ so they weren’t identical. My Snapshot is at http://goo.gl/dgFw0

    Reply
    • 20. storygal  |  January 6, 2013 at 12:32 am

      And so I continue the tradition in part and get matching fleece jacket and pants for my grandaughters. 🙂 But not all the time, just once in awhile. They were dressed alike for their aunt’s weddings this past summer and fall, but that is expected.

      Reply
  • 21. Fay  |  January 5, 2013 at 11:56 pm

    I love black and white photos especially the ones from a while back as they always tell a story or hold a special memory. Great photo 😀

    Reply
    • 22. storygal  |  January 6, 2013 at 12:34 am

      Thanks, Fay. They are good to look back on. Another time will post more.

      Reply
  • 23. Susan  |  January 6, 2013 at 12:16 am

    I thought you were twins! Love old family snaps!

    Reply
    • 24. storygal  |  January 6, 2013 at 12:33 am

      No. we’re not, but it kind of looked that way, didn’t it? Fifteen months apart is the closest I come to being a twin, that and having been dressed alike. 😉

      Reply
    • 25. storygal  |  January 11, 2013 at 9:22 pm

      Somehow I missed your comments earlier. Thanks for stopping by. Maybe we looked like twins, but we`re not. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

