Just like Daddy

June 20, 2013 at 3:13 pm Leave a comment

Even as an adult, there are times when I feel like a child or when I see nature as full of wonder, and seeing it anew through the eyes of my granddaughters. Then I think also of children copying parents when they’re learning, and of fathers protecting their children. This poem reflects on God as Father and me as the child.

Just like Daddy

When I was small

I tried to walk in Daddy’s shoes

they were much too big for my small feet

I could not keep up with his long strides

Still, I cannot hold the pace

I try to match your steps, and fail

 

I strayed to bright objects

engaging sounds

and met with danger on the way

So, too, I am distracted from your purpose

and when I fell        or was afraid

I reached for Daddy’s hand

his strong arms lifted me up

he comforted me

Just like that

you guide me back to the path

and remind me of your love

I’m still that small child

I wander

 

published 2006 by Esprit. Copyright, Carolyn R, Wilker

Image

or it could even mean copying your Grandpa

Entry filed under: authors, blogs, education, entertainment, faith, family, photography, relationships, writing, writing family stories. Tags: , , , , , .

Sightseeing around Halifax After this brief post…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Book title


debi riley

The Creative Zone for Making Art

Shot By Sarah

Photography

Janice L. Dick

Tansy & Thistle Press: faith, fiction, forum

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

SIMPLY LIFE with Kathleen Gibson

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Like It!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whatever He Says

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baden Storytellers' Guild

Continuing the Tradition of Oral Storytelling

Tenacity

thoughts on faith and fiction

gardenchatter

Garden adventures and advice...

Promises of Home

Stories of British Home Children, written, compiled and edited by Rose McCormick Brandon

